HOME   Library   Contents: Poison for the Heart

Poison for the Heart





Bhakta: Loving devotion to Truth, or God.

Bodhicitta: The "enlightenment mind". The mind that aspires to absolute perfection without compromise. See Hinayana and Mahayana.

Bodhisattva: a. One who possesses bodhicitta (see above). b. One who has realized the Truth (the Infinite) intuitively as well as intellectually, and also possesses bodhicitta.

Buddha: a. Siddartha Gottama, called "The Buddha", who lived about 500 B.C. b. Any person who has gone through all the ten stages of the bodhisattva, and can now maintain concentration on the Ultimate Reality effortlessly and at all times. The Perfect Being. c. Anyone who has realized Ultimate Reality both intellectually and intuitively. A bodhisattva can sometimes be called a Buddha. d. The Ultimate Reality, the Infinite, Truth, God.

Deva: A "god". Someone who has an extremely powerful concentration, confidence and memory. They "inhabit" blissful heavens.

Dharma/Dhamma: a. The teaching of the Buddha. Can refer to the teaching which is found in words, or that which is unspoken and beyond words. b. Phenomena, things.

Dharmakaya: The teaching body of the Buddha, which manifests in any form suitable to teach a person ready to be taught. The wise man sees all things as the Dharmakaya.

Enlightenment: a. An intuitive realization of Ultimate Reality, or Truth. b. The attainment of complete Buddhahood - beyond the ten stages of the bodhisattva. c. A quantum leap in understanding taking one closer to a realization of the Infinite.

Hinayana: The "lesser" vehicle whereby one determines to achieve happiness for oneself through a limited wisdom. There is no bodhicitta.

Jnana: Intellectual knowledge of Truth, or God.

Jnani: Someone who has jnana (see above). See also vijnani.

Mahayana: The "greater" vehicle whereby one determines to attain ultimate Enlightenment at all costs. One possesses bodhicitta.

Muni: An enlightened one, a bodhisattva or a Buddha.

Nagasena: A legendary Buddhist sage.

Nirvana: Liberation from suffering and false dualism.

Preta: A person who has the consciousness of a "Craving ghost". One who is never satisfied and always feels insubstantial.

Samadhi: One pointed concentration of the mind which is accompanied by a deep stillness of mind and body, and great power of mind.

Samsara: Cyclic existence. The cycle of birth, death and rebirth. The realm of ignorance, as opposed to Nirvana.

Shunyata: The true nature of reality, Truth, God.

Siddhu: A monk, one of the renounced order of life, who has given his life to the service of Truth.

Sutra: A teaching of the Buddha, a discourse.

Tao: The Way.

Tao Te Ching: Supposedly written by Lao Tsu in the 6th century. One translation of the title is "The Way and its Characteristics."

Tathagata: lit. "One Thus Gone" a. A fully enlightened Buddha. b. The Ultimate Reality, the Infinite.

Vijnani: One who has gone beyond jnana to a direct realization of Truth.

Zen: A form of Buddhism which arose out of Buddhism from India and Chinese Taoist philosophy, and concentrates on "the silent teaching beyond words."



PREV    Top    Contents